top of page
View Here

“Like roots finding water, we always wind up moving towards what sustains us.”

– Mark Nepo
Six communities in the southwest suburbs of Chicago have formed the Grand Prairie Water Commission to provide a sustainable and reliable water supply to meet water needs and support continued growth and development in the region. They are :
  • Village of Channahon

  • City of Crest Hill

  • City of Joliet

  • Village of Minooka

  • Village of Romeoville

  • Village of Shorewood


For the past several years communities in the southwestern suburban region have been evaluating alternative water sources due to water quantity and water quality challenges with their existing water supplies.  Lake Michigan water purchased from the City of Chicago

was selected to achieve the vision of these municipalities of being leaders

in providing sustainable, reliable, and high-quality water in an innovative, collaborative, fiscally responsible and efficient manner for their communities.

Read More 

The mission of the Grand Prairie Water Commission is to provide a sustainable, reliable, and high-quality water supply for the member communities by 2030 and beyond in order to support public health, safety, economic interests, and quality of life.
bottom of page